Notice to parents and guardians

With reference to circular DES 08/2020 issued on the 5th February 2020, the Ministry for Education and Employment (MEDE) in collaboration with and following instructions from the Ministry for Health (MfH) and according to the press release issued by the MfH (see attached), please note that anyone (staff or learners) who has visited these countries during the past days:
– China
– Singapore
– Hong Kong
– Japan
– South Korea
– Iran
– Italy (Emilia-Romagna, Lombardy, Piedmont, Veneto, ie. all the north of Italy above Tuscany),
must stay at home for 14 days and if they develop symptoms of fever, cough or shortness of breath, they need to phone the Disease Prevention and Control Unit (IDCU) within the Superintendence of Public Health, Ministry for Health on Tel. no 21324086 and the unit will guide them accordingly.

It is also being advised that individuals who need help or clarification should phone their family doctor (GP). In addition, it is being instructed that the general public should not to go to Health centres or Casualty or visit their private GP but they should call their GP if they notice any symptoms mentioned above.

Employees that travelled to these countries are requested to advise their line manager regarding the need to stay at home according the stipulated days mentioned. Employees will be considered as excused on presentaton of travel evidence when individual returns back to work.

It is also recommended that travellers should avoid non-essential travel to the above countries which are countries with presumed ongoing transmission of COVID-19 based on scientific evidence available provided by ECDC (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control).

In the meantime, the Ministry for Education and Employment will continue to keep schools and educational institutions adjourned with directions given from time to time by the MfH.

Therefore, your cooperation is highly solicited.

Ms Maria Mc Namara
Director General
Educational Services


The outbreak of COVID-19 has now spread to various countries. At this point, there are no COVID-19 cases in Malta. In view of the current situation, the Health Authorities are expanding their surveillance to cover a wider area of travel to affected areas.

People who have fever, cough or shortness of breath within 14 days of visiting the following countries:

  1. China
  2. Hong Kong
  3. Singapore
  4. Japan
  5. Iran
  6. South Korea
  7. Northern part of Italy – Lombardy, Piedmont, Veneto and Emilia-Romagna

should contact their family doctor and the Health Authorities on 21324086. They are advised to refrain from visiting health centres or the casualty department in the first instance.

The Health Authorities are also advising people to avoid nonessential travel to the listed affected areas. People returning from these areas are being asked to self-quarantine for 14 days.

The general public are reminded to take the necessary precautions for prevention of respiratory infections:

Clean: Clean hands often by washing with soap and water or using alcohol hand rub.

Contain: Contain germs by staying at home if unwell; do not go to work or school until one is better. Do not visit patients in hospital if you are sick.

Cover: Use a tissue to cover your mouth and nose when you cough and sneeze into bare hands. Bin used tissues immediately. Do not leave tissues running around.

Do not sneeze or cough into your hands as you may contaminate objects or people that you touch.

Add Comment